Public Health Department, State of Tasmania

1904 - 1956

Other Names: • Department of Public Health

Details

The Public Health Department was established in January 1904. Its purpose was to stop the outbreak of contagious diseases by taking control of sanitary works as well as preventing water pollution and the sale of contaminated food. The Public Health Department became the Department of Health Services in 1956.

The Public Health Department was established by the *Public Health Act* 1903 following an outbreak of smallpox in Launceston. It was located in the Chief Secretary's Office until 1934 when it acquired its own government Minister and expanded rapidly.

The Mental Deficiency Board and State Psychological Clinic, established by the *Mental Deficiency Act* of 1920, were associated with the Department.

In 1945, the *Public Health Administration Act*, also of 1945, created four Divisions of the Department. These were Public Health, Hospital and Medical Services, Mental Hygiene, and Tuberculosis.

In 1949, the Public Health Department took over the management of the Mothercraft Home from the Child Welfare Association.

The Department also ran St John's Park, and the Mental Diseases Hospital at New Norfolk, along with its successor, Lachlan Park Hospital.

More info

Chronology

- Central Board of Health (1885 1903)
 - Public Health Department, State of Tasmania (1904 1956)
 - Department of Health Services, State of Tasmania (1956 1989)
 - Department of Health, State of Tasmania (1989 1993)
 - Department of Community and Health Services, State of Tasmania (1993 1998)
 - Department of Health and Human Services, State of Tasmania (1998 2018)
 - Department of Communities Tasmania (2018 2022)

Related Entries

Ran

- Lachlan Park Hospital (1937 1968)
- Mental Diseases Hospital, New Norfolk (1915 1937)

Date: 1915 - 1937

- Queen Alexandra Maternity Hospital (1908 1999)
- Royal Hobart Hospital (1938 current)
- Queen Victoria Maternity Hospital (1897 1993)
- Devon Public Hospital (1888 1958)
- Darwin Private Hospital (1933 1951)
- Burnie General Hospital (1951 1965)
- Spencer Public Hospital (1918 1965)
- St John's Park (1936 1994)

St John's Park was run by the Public Health Department.

Mothercraft Home (1925 - c. 1988)

In 1947, the Public Health Department took over the management of the Mothercraft Home.

Date: 1947 - 1956

• Division of Mental Hygiene (1945 - 1956)

Related Organisations

Mental Deficiency Board (1922 - 1964)

The Mental Deficiency Board was a satellite to the Public Health Department.

- Meercroft Hospital (1925 1958)
- Child Welfare Association (1917 1956)

In 1949, the Public Health Department took over the management of the Mothercraft Home from the Child Welfare Association.

Related Legislation

• The Public Health Act 1903, Tasmania (1904 - 1935)

The Public Health Act 1903 established the Public Health Department.

Resources

• Roe, Michael, Nine Australian progressives: vitalism in bourgeois social thought, 1890-1960, 1984

Records

Records

- Correspondence Files, Public Health Department (1940 1989)
- General Correspondence-Hospital and Health Administration (1932 1987)
- General Correspondence, Department of Public Health (1920 1956)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/public-health-department/