

Division of Mental Hygiene

1945 – 1956

Details

The Division of Mental Hygiene was established in 1945 as part of a restructure of the Public Health Department. It had responsibility for the Mental Deficiency Board as well as Lachlan Park and Millbrook Rise Psychopathic Hospitals.

More info

Chronology

- Division of Mental Hygiene (1945 1956)
 - Division of Mental Health (1956 1963)
 - Division of Psychiatric Services (1963 1968)
 - The Mental Health Services Commission (1968 1989)
 - Mental Health Services (1989? current)

Related Entries

Ran

• Millbrook Rise Psychopathic Hospital (1933 - 1968)

Run by

• Public Health Department, State of Tasmania (1904 - 1956)

Related Organisations

- Mental Deficiency Board (1922 1964)
- Lachlan Park Hospital (1937 1968)
 - The Division of Mental Hygiene, was the section of the Public Health Department that managed Lachlan Park.

Records

Records

• Correspondence Files, Public Health Department (1940 - 1989)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/division-of-mental-hygiene/