

Health Commission of Victoria

1978 – 1985

Details

The Health Commission of Victoria was established in 1978 by the *Health Commission Act 1977*. It took on the responsibilities previously administered by the Mental Health Authority, Department of Health, Commission of Public Health, and the Hospitals and Charities Commission. The Health Commission had three divisions: the Public Health Division, the Hospitals Division, and the Mental Health Division (which in 1981 was renamed to the Mental Retardation Division). In 1985 the Health Commission was disestablished, and its responsibilities were divided between the new Department of Health and the Department of Community Services.

More info

Chronology

- Hospitals and Charities Commission (1948 1978)
- Mental Health Authority, State of Victoria (1962 1978)
 - Health Commission of Victoria (1978 1985)
 - Community Services Victoria, State Government of Victoria (1985 1992)
 - Department of Health, State Government of Victoria (1985 1992)

Related Entries

Ran

- Janefield Colony (1937 1996)
- Mont Park (1912 c.1997)
- Larundel (1953 1999)
- Beechworth Mental Hospital (1867 c.1996)
- Sunbury Mental Hospital (1879 1992)
- Royal Park Mental Hospital and Receiving House (1907 1999)
- Ballarat Mental Hospital (1893 1996)

You can view this page online by visiting https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/health-commission-of-victoria/