

Department of Health, State Government of Victoria

1985 – 1992 Other Names: • Health Department of Victoria

Details

The Department of Health, also known as the Health Department of Victoria, was established in 1985. It replaced the Health Commission of Victoria, and assumed its responsibilities for the management of public health providers in Victoria, including hospitals. In 1987 the Office of Psychiatric Services was added to the Department of Health, which was responsible for the management of psychiatric services across Victoria, including mental health institutions such as Mont Park, Larundel, Janefield, Travancore, Kew Children's Cottages, and the psychiatric hospitals at Royal Park, Kew, Ballarat, Beechworth, and Ararat. In 1992 the Department of Health was replaced by the Department of Health and Community Services.

More info

Chronology

- Lunacy Department (1905 1934)
 - Department of Mental Hygiene (1934 1944)
 - Mental Hygiene Branch (1944 1959)
 - Mental Health Authority, State of Victoria (1962 1978)
 - Health Commission of Victoria (1978 1985)
 - Department of Health, State Government of Victoria (1985 1992)
 - Health and Community Services, State Government of Victoria (1992 1995)
 - Department of Human Services, State Government of Victoria (1995 December 2014)
 - Department of Health & Human Services, State Government of Victoria (January 2015 2021)
 - Department of Health, State Government of Victoria (2021 current)

Related Entries

Ran

- Janefield Colony (1937 1996)
- Travancore (1933 current)
- Kew Children's Cottages (1887 2008)

You can view this page online by visiting <u>https://www.findandconnect.gov.au/entity/department-of-health-state-government-of-victoria-2/</u>