Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
Northern Territory - Organisation

Medical Officer (1885 - 1916)

Northern Territory of South Australia

Public Servant
Alternative Names
  • Government Medical Officer (Also known as)

The title of Medical Officer was given to the Colonial Surgeon in 1885. The Medical Officer also assumed a number of other roles including acting as the Protector of Aborigines until these duties were transferred to another officer in 1910. The Medical Officer was also the District Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages until 1910. In 1916 the role of Medical Officer and that of Health Officer were combined and the Department of Public Health was formed.

Prepared by: Karen George and Gary George