Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
New South Wales - Organisation

Anglican Diocese of Bathurst (1865 - )

Anglican, Care Provider and Diocese

The Bathurst Diocese of the Church of England in the west of New South Wales comprises 34 parishes, stretching from the Blue Mountains to the Queensland border. The Bathurst Diocese established the St Michael's War Memorial Children's Homes at Bathurst in 1957. It ran an Anglican Youth Council and a Children's Home Council, who took over the operations of the Homes from their founder, Children's and Youth Commissioner Canon Harry Thorpe, MBE.


Online Resources

Sources used to compile this entry: 'Worth Reporting: Fine Work of Youth Commissioner', Australian Women's Weekly, 6 March 1957,

Prepared by: Naomi Parry