Some people may find content on this website distressing. Read more
The Find & Connect website is changing soon Read more
South Australia - Concept

State of South Australia (1901 - )


The State of South Australia was established on 1 January 1901, at the time of Federation. Previously, it was the Colony (or Province) of South Australia.


At the time of Federation, eleven politicians from South Australia left to join the new Commonwealth government, including six former Premiers. According to the Parliament of SA website, it took some years for the new State to recover from this 'brain drain'.

The Northern Territory was under the control of the State of South Australia from 1901 until 1911 (the Colony of South Australia having laid claim to it in 1863). Responsibility for the Northern Territory was transferred to the Commonwealth government in 1911.


 1834 - 1901 Colony of South Australia
       1901 - State of South Australia

Related Legislation


Online Resources

Prepared by: Cate O'Neill